Look busy! (404 days to go)

by Max Akroyd

Never mind the bleary hour our three year old decides to wake me up. By the time we get to the bottom of our creaky old staircase, I have a pretty good idea what the day ahead holds.

Some things, like tending to the animals – once someone else’s life – are now as habitual as eating breakfast. (Sometimes the animals are breakfast). Other things, like sowing and mowing come and go with the seasons which present you with a clear map if you choose to look. But the problem is this is becoming a strange Summer/Spring and the map doesn’t correspond to the terrain.

Confronted with a baked-dry field, complete with wilting sweet peas and beetroot seedlings on life support, I don’t know what to do today. I’ve sown seeds in every container imaginable. I even helped Emma sow flower seeds yesterday. 

This is a potentially risky situation. If I’m clearly underoccupied, strange leisure pursuits will threaten to take me away from the farm. I like it here. It’s very beautiful in the rest of Brittany, and it might not be much of a farm, but I’m happiest here with my family and the pigs. Already a market in delightful St. Rivoal has been mentioned for this afternoon. That means a bath and a shave first. 

Bloody weather!