Michael O’Leary and I* (508)

by Max Akroyd

There comes a point when you have to concede defeat. Another 15cm of snow fell last night and finally sabotaged today’s journey plans. The postponement means Michael O’Leary is a bit richer at my expense, but that was probably going to happen anyway…

Time to accentuate the positive: happy kids (“no school!”), happy labrador/collie (“It’s white and soft and I’m a wolf!”) and an extended family holiday…

 

After a morning in the garden, the author surveys the snowy skies...

By mid-morning, the weight of snow was clearly threatening the integrity of my precious polytunnel so I had to perform a strange choreography which involved jumping in the air and pushing the groaning billows of plastic from below. Much to the dogs’ delight an impressive avalanche of snow down the sides of the polytunnel ensued.

The omnipresence of this portable wet stuff gave me an idea – call it a mad cap scheme if you will – to mulch the bone dry soil in the polytunnel… with snow! A slow release, moisturising mulch: I could market this! (Perhaps Mr O’Leary and I have more in common than I imagined…)

Outside, it’s still snowing…

 

Snow inside the polytunnel, not on top

* It’s been bothering me all evening that this should be Michael O’Leary and Me… please let me know if you know about these things, failing which I’ll have to ask my mum tomorrow, change it on the quiet, and make out that I knew all along…