Colder… (532)

by Max Akroyd

I know, another sunrise...

The list of good things farmyard animals bring to my life is long. But one of the more subtle things in their favour is the need to feed them twice a day, every day, whatever the weather. Thanks to them I can imagine what drowning in mud would be like and I’ve learnt that wearing a hat is such a good thing that I’m seriously considering wearing one in bed… I’ve also made regular and close acquaintance with dawn and dusk, special and mysterious times on each side of the mundane. Dusk is a particular privilege and feels like stolen time, with the garden on the cusp of inaccessible darkness.

There’s not much else positive to say on a day like today though: the ground is bone-hard with frost; and after a flouncy sunrise, a work shy sun went back to bed  – so it’ll probably stay that way.

Fortunately there’s things to do in the hangar. This is a ridiculousy big dutch barn which, at some point, had its sides boarded up and some concrete cow stalls affixed to one side. The pigs and the hens occupy the latter, leaving a great (in both senses) covered expanse for other stuff. So far that ‘stuff ‘ has comprised: multiple hay and straw bales, a large trampoline, three huge wood piles, a table tennis table and an extensive collection of cardbord boxes and other junk. With a little reorganisation, which is this afternoon’s task, there would also be room for a double decker bus. As I don’t have one of these, I’ll have to settle for making a frost resitant space for the car…