Gone to seed (556)

by Max Akroyd

For one reason and another (old age, lack of moral fibre) I couldn’t face any more digging, turfing or trenching today. So I reached for my list headed ‘Lightweight Things to do in November’. Just two things remain on it.

First: “Tidy the seed boxes”. This refers to the chaos of seed packets in two or three plastic boxes which desperately needs transforming into a semblance of order. With my mind turned to achieving self sufficiency, I need to generate a dour seed order that plugs gaps in harvest schedules rather than satisfies my curiosity about the latest Yu Choy.

It should be possible to have fresh lettuces, cabbages, cauliflowers, broccoli etc. all year if I buy the right varieties. Especially if I can find the seed packet again afterwards… about half way through the tidying process I was feeling grumpy and thinking digging was a pretty attractive alternative. But I persevered and got there in the end: like long lost siblings beetroot ‘Forono’ has been reunited with beetroot “Detroit”, endive “Scarola Bionda A Foglia di Lattuga” with… oh you get the picture: 

My morning's hard labour...

The other item on the ‘to do’ list? “Tidy the tool shed”. An unprecedented act; so improbable, so unlikely to be carried out, that its completion may disrupt the very fabric of space and time. In fact, I will have to synchronise such a rash action with activation of the Large Hadron Collider. So they get the blame, not me.