Burdock (558)

by Max Akroyd

This beautiful warm and windy weather can’t continue. Rhubarb, nettles and moths think it’s spring. Sure enough, as I type this the sun’s gone in behind a glowering cloud and the wind is up again…

With the prospect of  tomorrow’s rain spurring me on, I spent the whole morning completing the mowing. Which isn’t interesting in itself but allowed me to complete mulching of the recent sowings of beans and onions. And, if you happen to be a mini-pig, grass cuttings are very interesting…

Time for some greens...

In Spring the sowing schedule is hectic and anything that’s not essential tends to get overlooked in my drive to get the basics right. Conversely, the box containing seeds for sowing in  Novemember is almost empty: broad beans, peas, chervil, chives… all sown now, perhaps to excess. I did find another, long-neglected packet in there, though: burdock. A bit of research has persuaded me to give it a try. Apparently the later it’s sown in Autumn the better because it’ll go to seed if its root is too big by the time of the first frosts. I’m planning to soak the seed tonight and “chit” it – make it sprout on some wet paper – before putting it in the soil.  

I’ve got a bed spare that was assigned to more broad beans, but what the heck, I’m going to sow Burdock in that trench instead. Someone round here will like it, even if it’s just the goats.