by Max Akroyd

This time last year I’d carefully prepared some beds for the onion-family and was busily planting onion sets, garlic and shallots. The resulting harvest was very mixed with some good shallots, some ok garlic and rubbish onions. The abysmal failure of the onions was down to a mixture of inappropriate varieties and my failure to keep the plot weeded properly.

This afternoon I set about salvaging the plot in question for planting brassicas in the spring. This meant laying out three long (30 metre) plastic mulches and bashing in large staples to keep them in place. I then strimmed around the area to make it look sensible.

In February I will be able to remove the mulches to reveal weed free strips ready for liming and planting. Hopefully I’ll get around to some serious weeding thereafter…